Quick Answer: What are the stages of the criminal justice process?

What are the five stages of the criminal justice process?

The five (5) basic steps of a criminal proceeding are the:

  • Arrest.
  • Preliminary hearing.
  • Grand jury investigation.
  • Arraignment in Criminal Court.
  • Trial by jury.

What are the stages of the criminal justice systems?

Steps in the criminal justice process include the investigation and arrest, pretrial activities, adjudication, sentencing, and corrections.

What are the 13 steps of the criminal justice process?

Terms in this set (13)

  • Investigation. When they investigate for any evidence to find who was the person that maid the crime.
  • Arrest. …
  • Booking. …
  • Charging. …
  • Initial appearance. …
  • Preliminary hearing /grand jury. …
  • Indictment /information. …
  • Arraignment.

What are the 10 steps in the criminal justice process?

10 Steps in The Federal Criminal Process

  • Investigation. …
  • Charging. …
  • Initial Appearance / Arraignment. …
  • Preliminary Hearing. …
  • Discovery. …
  • Plea Bargaining. …
  • Pre-Trial Motions. …
  • Trial.
IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: What are the best online colleges for Criminology?


What are the 5 pillars of criminal justice system?

The Philippine criminal justice system is composed of five parts or pillars, namely, law enforcement, prosecution, judiciary, penology, and the community.

Who decides the charges in a criminal case?

A criminal case usually gets started with a police arrest report. The prosecutor then decides what criminal charges to file, if any. Some cases go to a preliminary hearing, where a judge decides if there is enough evidence to proceed. Cases can also start when a grand jury issues a criminal indictment.

What are the four main goals of the criminal justice system?

Four major goals are usually attributed to the sentencing process: retribution, rehabilitation, deterrence, and incapacitation. Retribution refers to just deserts: people who break the law deserve to be punished. The other three goals are utilitarian, emphasizing methods to protect the public.

What are the 5 goals of the criminal justice system?

The primary goals of the criminal justice system are: accurate identification of the person responsible, fair adjudication, retribution, deterrence, rehabilitation and restoration.

What are the three major components of our criminal justice system?

Three main components make up the criminal justice system: law enforcement, courts, and corrections.

What is the important of steps in criminal case justice system?

The major steps in processing a criminal case are as follows: Investigation of a crime by the police. The purpose of a criminal investigation is to gather evidence to identify a suspect and support an arrest. … An arrest involves taking a person into custody for the purpose of holding the suspect until court.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do I become a MSc forensic scientist?

What are the 7 stages of a criminal trial?

  • Investigation.
  • Charging.
  • Initial Hearing/Arraignment.
  • Discovery.
  • Plea Bargaining.
  • Preliminary Hearing.
  • Pre-Trial Motions.
  • Trial.