You asked: What are the two types of high explosives forensic science?

two types: (1) detonating, or high, explosives and (2) deflagrating, or low, explosives.

What are the two types of explosions?

What are the Different Types of Explosion? There are three main types of explosions: chemical, mechanical and nuclear. Each type of explosion can be equally devastating and serious, causing unprecedented harm to the surrounding people, atmosphere and infrastructure.

What are examples of high explosives?

High Explosives – explosive materials that can be caused to detonate by means of a blasting cap. A few examples of high explosives would be boosters, detonators, dynamite, water gels/slurries, and emulsions.

What are the two classes of high explosives What is the difference between the two classes quizlet?

What is the difference between low explosives and high explosives? Low explosives detonate relatively slowly (less than 1,000 meters per second), while high explosives detonate very rapidly (from 1,000 to 8,500 meters per second). You just studied 75 terms!

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is Forensic Psychology Social Work?

What are the two classes of explosives quizlet?

  • Detonator (primary explosive)
  • Booster (secondary explosive)
  • Main Charge (secondary explosive)

What are the three main types of explosions?

There are three fundamental types: mechanical, nuclear, and chemical. A mechanical explosive is one that depends on a physical reaction, such as overloading a container with compressed air.

Are all explosions dangerous?

Unfortunately, most explosions are very dangerous and should be done only by experts. However, there are some types of simple explosions that can be replicated and observed on a much smaller scale.

What defines a high explosive?

: an explosive (such as TNT) that generates gas with extreme rapidity and has a shattering effect.

What is the strongest explosive?

HNIW is considered one of the most powerful explosive, possessing higher oxygen balance, density and energy.

What is C4 made of?

C4 is composed of RDX (91%), dioctyl sebacate (5.3%), polyisobutylene (2.1%), and mineral/motor oil (1.6%) [1].

RDX is the most popular and powerful of the military explosives, often encountered in the form of pliable plastic known as C-4.

What is the main difference between a low and high explosive?

By definition, a “low explosive”, such as black powder, or smokeless gunpowder has a burn rate of 171–631 m/s. In contrast, a “high explosive”, whether a primary, such as detonating cord, or a secondary, such as TNT or C-4 has a significantly higher burn rate.

Which is most widely used low explosive?

The most widely used explosives in the low-explosive group are black powder and smokeless powder. Black powder is a mixture of potassium or sodium nitrate, charcoal, and sulfur. Smokeless powder consists of nitrated cotton (nitrocellulose) or nitroglycerin and nitrocellulose.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What is the importance of technical communication in the field of criminal justice education?

What type of explosive is classified into two groups primary and secondary?

Standardized testing evaluates the sensitivity in terms of friction, impact, heat, shock and based on these results, explosives are classified accordingly. Nitroglycerine (NG) is very sensitive and classified as a primary explosive. TNT/RDX/dynamites are secondary explosives.

What is required to create a low explosive?

Low explosives (like black powder) rely on combustion to generate energy. Combustion is produced by the reaction of oxygen and some sort of fuel at high temperatures. As a result, the rate of a combustion reaction is limited both by the amount of fuel present and the amount of oxygen it comes in contact with.

What are primary explosives and what are they used for quizlet?

Primary explosives are used to detonate secondary explosives but can also be used as the main charge. Simply turning a lid on a container of primary explosives or stepping on small quantities can cause detonation. Almost all detonators contain primary explosives.